top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbhishek Thorat

The Ant

It so happened that I was sat in the sun with a book,and just as I was about to nod off, a little voice called out:


"Excuse me, what is this for?"


A small ant had crawled across the page of my book, and was now sat staring up at me. "What?" I said. "Excuse me," the ant said, "what is this for?"




"What is what for?" I said. "This great black and white expanse I'm standing on now," it tapped the book with a little black leg. "Look," I said, "you wouldn't understand even if I explained it to you." "That might be so," the ant said, "but though I am very small, I am also very curious, and I don't want to turn to dust having known nothing at all.





So, if you would, please – what is this for?" He stood up on his two back legs, eagerly awaiting my answer, and his antennae stood to attention most respectfully. I said:


It's like this: you're standing on a page. Pages are made from trees, we put lots of them together and call it a book."


"What is a book for, then?" the ant said. "Well, it stores thoughts," I said. "That way, we can transmit them to other people very far away."


"How?" the ant said. "Now, look, this isn't the time or place," I said, a little too firmly.


The ant bowed his tiny head, and his antennae wilted. I said softly: "Look, you see those little black squiggles –excuse me; to you, very big black squiggles about you on the page?"


The ant nodded. "Those are words and numbers." "They don't look like words and numbers," the ant said. "They represent them," I said.


"Hmm," the ant said and thought about this a while. I said: "Do you understand?"


The ant said: "Not really. You were right. It's beyond me. But though I'll never be as clever as you animals, I'm at least a little cleverer than I was a moment ago. So thank you for that."


"You're welcome", I said. "Well, good luck on being a thing in the world," the ant said.


"Good luck to you, too," I said. The little ant made off on his way and disappeared into the grass.



I read to the end of my page, but could not forget the little ant. Eventually, I looked up from the book – to the trees, to the mountain, to the sky. The moon was climbing up for evening, birds were migrating in the distance.


I called out: "Excuse me, what is this for?" "What?" came a booming voice above. "This great green and blue sphere I'm standing on now," I patted the ground with my foot, "What is all this for?" "Look," the voice said, "you wouldn't understand even if I explained it to you." "That might be so," I shouted, "but though I am very small, I am also very curious, and I don't want to turn to dust having known nothing at all. So, if you would, please – what is all this for?"


And the voice said:


*Sigh*


"It's like this..."

79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page